Snapchat introduces a new feature that reminds users to remove unwanted connections from their contact list. The “Friends Review” feature encourages users to crop their friend list in the app with a notification that says “Snapchat is for real friends”.
By clicking the notification, users can browse their Snapchat connections and remove people they no longer want or need to connect with. The feature won’t be available for a few weeks, but the company is now previewing the update to promote Safer Internet Day.
It’s not a new feel for Snap, which has long turned out to be an app geared towards close friends rather than a large social chart. But it’s the latest in how the company is trying to distance itself from Facebook, which is still grappling with how features like groups sparked a massive disinformation crisis.